The McFadden Series
New England provides the perfect setting
for the first novel in
The McFadden

Dr. Lauren McFadden survived the
accidental explosion that nearly took her
life. She's back at her orthopedic practice
at Saint Michael's Rehabilitation Center,
but husband Bryan insists she's not well.
Her moodiness and indecisiveness are
threatening her work performance.
Treatment of Choice
Book #1 in The McFadden Series
Confirmed Diagnosis
Book #2 in The McFadden Series
Dr. Lauren McFadden and her husband
Bryan have moved on with their physical
medicine careers. Turning a dream into
reality, they're providing a home and
rehabilitation services for deserving
young people with advanced medical
Book #3 in The McFadden Series
Adam is deaf and has an eye for art.
Devon is learning to walk again after the
bike accident that nearly killed him.
Philip faces challenges other than using a
wheelchair. Michael begins SCI rehab,
but doesn't want to live as a person with
Paperback books in The McFadden Series are Print-on-Demand
and are available from a variety of book vendors.
                           Dear Readers,

                           Welcome to The McFadden Series! If you crave engaging family dramas and wish the story
                           you're reading would never end, then this novel series may interest you. A few notes before
                           you begin...

                          The McFadden Series, by Mary King, is a modern saga. A saga is a long story, account, or
                          sequence of events. The story unfolds and progresses with each successive novel (much like a TV series
where the episodes are linked.) Start with book #1 and continue reading the books in the order they were written
to avoid missing vital details.

The McFadden Series is
character-driven, meaning the emphasis is on the characters, their lives, reactions, emotions,
and relationships with each other. We see and relate to their accomplishments and daily struggles. Readers experience
constant growth and conflicts  as personalities mature and lives intertwine.

The McFadden Series features teenagers and young adults (homeless, orphaned, neglected, abused, gay) facing medical
trauma and real-life situations. Expect strong language, incorrigible behavior, compassion, and tough love. Characters
with physical disabilities educate readers, enlightening them with answers to sensitive questions. The storyline contains
explicit (and graphic) medical details.

How does the story begin? Dr. Lauren McFadden and her husband Bryan get more than they bargain for when they
leave their jobs to fulfill a dream. They set out to build an accessible home and provide rehabilitation therapies to
teenagers who need advanced medical care. Adam, Devon, and Philip arrive within six months of the home's
completion. Medical students Buddy and Noah shine as hired caregivers. (Treatment of Choice, Book #1)

I created The McFadden Series from personal experience as a caregiver (conditions including, but not limited to spinal
cord injury, traumatic brain injury, spinal muscular atrophy, profound developmental delay, dementia). I'm a former
rehab hospital worker (PT, OT, speech, etc.) My perspective is unique and is based on reality. Don't expect
sugar-coated solutions or even happy endings all the time; life doesn't work that way.

The characters face problems and issues that span more than one book, so keep reading to see what happens next!

Mary L. King
Dr. McFadden and Bryan welcome
architect John Reynolds to view their
home and meet the boys who live there.

Newest resident Terry Evans is grieving
the loss of his arms. Cameron Jones fits
right in as the youngest teenager in the
Jeff Gaithers arrives to work as Bryan’s
assistant for the semester and manages to
turn everyone against him in just one
week. College students Buddy and Noah
face tragedy over Noah’s school friend.
Official Site of
Vital Signs
Book #4 in The McFadden Series
A saga is a long story, account, or sequence of events.
The McFadden Series is a character-driven saga that unfolds and progresses with each successive novel.
Dr. Lauren McFadden is looking
forward to a relaxed summer
schedule. Bryan McFadden still has
hopes of a camping trip despite the
challenges—and the doctor’s protest—
of exploring the Mohawk Trail with
nine teenage boys and young men.

The younger teens are thriving, but it’s
not all sun and fun at the multi-million-
dollar estate.
On the Horizon for 2019:
Book #5 in The McFadden Series